CERTIFICATION OF ENROLLMENT

SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL 1205

61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

Passed by the House March 5, 2009 Yeas 96 Nays 1 Speaker of the House of Representatives Passed by the Senate April 3, 2009 Yeas 46 Nays 0	CERTIFICATE		
	I, Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that the attached is SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL 1205 as passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate or the dates hereon set forth.		
			Chief Clerk
		President of the Senate	
Approved	FILED		
Governor of the State of Washington	Secretary of State State of Washington		
Governor or the state or washington			

SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL 1205

Passed Legislature - 2009 Regular Session

State of Washington 61st Legislature

2009 Regular Session

By House Ways & Means (originally sponsored by Representatives Van De Wege, Rolfes, Haigh, and Williams; by request of Board For Judicial Administration)

READ FIRST TIME 03/02/09.

- 1 AN ACT Relating to changing the number of court of appeals judges;
- 2 and amending RCW 2.06.020; and adding a new section to chapter 2.06
- 3 RCW.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 5 **Sec. 1.** RCW 2.06.020 and 1999 c 75 s 1 are each amended to read as follows:
- 7 The court shall have three divisions, one of which shall be
- 8 headquartered in Seattle, one of which shall be headquartered in
- 9 Spokane, and one of which shall be headquartered in Tacoma:
- 10 (1) The first division shall have twelve judges from three
- 11 districts, as follows:
- 12 (a) District 1 shall consist of King county and shall have eight
- 13 judges;
- 14 (b) District 2 shall consist of Snohomish county and shall have two
- 15 judges; and
- 16 (c) District 3 shall consist of Island, San Juan, Skagit, and
- 17 Whatcom counties and shall have two judges.
- 18 (2) The second division shall have ((seven)) eight judges from the
- 19 following districts:

- 1 (a) District 1 shall consist of Pierce county and shall have three 2 judges;
- 3 (b) District 2 shall consist of Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, 4 Kitsap, Mason, and Thurston counties and shall have ((two)) three
- 5 judges;
- 6 (c) District 3 shall consist of Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Pacific, Skamania, and Wahkiakum counties and shall have two judges.
- 8 (3) The third division shall have five judges from the following 9 districts:
- 10 (a) District 1 shall consist of Ferry, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend 11 Oreille, Spokane, and Stevens counties and shall have two judges;
- 12 (b) District 2 shall consist of Adams, Asotin, Benton, Columbia,
- 13 Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Walla Walla, and Whitman counties and shall
- 14 have one judge;
- 15 (c) District 3 shall consist of Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas,
- 16 Klickitat, and Yakima counties and shall have two judges.
- NEW SECTION. Sec. 2. A new section is added to chapter 2.06 RCW to read as follows:
- 19 The judicial position created by section 1 of this act shall become
- 20 effective only if that position is specifically funded and is
- 21 referenced by division and district in an omnibus appropriations act.

--- END ---