By Senators Becker, Haugen, Hatfield, Berkey, Swecker, Morton, Marr, King, Sheldon, Kauffman, Shin, Ranker, Fraser, Roach, and Franklin

WHEREAS, It is a tradition of the Washington State Senate to honor the towns of Washington State; and

WHEREAS, The Town of Eatonville celebrated its 100th birthday, its centennial, on October 28, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Town of Eatonville was founded by Thomas Cobb (T.C.) Van Eaton after being led to the present site fifty miles south of Seattle and thirty-one miles southeast of Tacoma by a Nisqually Indian named Soo-too-lik; and

WHEREAS, The major industry that fed Eatonville's growth was logging; the town was officially incorporated after Eatonville Lumber Company brought more people to work at its mill; and

WHEREAS, In 1924 the Town of Eatonville barely escaped catastrophe after a huge forest fire surrounded the town; and

WHEREAS, The 1954 closure of the Eatonville Lumber Company threatened to devastate the Town of Eatonville, but has since grown stronger by community spirit and good will; and

WHEREAS, Eatonville is now home to more industries, such as a Concrete manufacturing plant, Nybo Concrete, and other successful companies such as Rainier Connect; and

WHEREAS, Through its long history, Eatonville has steadily prospered, flourished, and overcome disasters and challenges such as fires, earthquakes, and economic recessions; and

WHEREAS, The people of Eatonville and surrounding areas celebrate Eatonville's modernday role as a thriving town with a high quality of life; and

WHEREAS, Eatonville is recognized as the gateway to Paradise on Mount Rainier and home to the world-famous Northwest Trek; and

WHEREAS, Citizens, elected officials, and community leaders celebrated Eatonville's historic centennial with a weekend-long celebration on October 16, 17, and 18, 2009;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate commemorate the Town of Eatonville and its citizens on the occasion of its centennial; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Eatonville Mayor Tom Smallwood and to Eatonville Council members Rich Adams, Bruce Rath, Brenden Pierce, Bobbie Allison, and James Valentine.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8679, adopted by the Senate March 8, 2010

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate