HB 1251

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

As Passed House:

March 4, 2013

Title: An act relating to membership on the opportunity scholarship board.

Brief Description: Increasing membership on the opportunity scholarship board.

Sponsors: Representatives Stonier, Carlyle, Seaquist, Harris, Maxwell, Takko, Kochmar, Vick, MacEwen, Fitzgibbon, Morrell, Tarleton, Haler, Riccelli and Bergquist.

Brief History:

Committee Activity:

Higher Education: 2/7/13, 2/13/13 [DP].

Floor Activity:

Passed House: 3/4/13, 58-40.

Brief Summary of Bill

  • Adds two foundation or business and industry representatives to the Opportunity Scholarship Board.


Majority Report: Do pass. Signed by 18 members: Representatives Seaquist, Chair; Pollet, Vice Chair; Haler, Ranking Minority Member; Zeiger, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Fagan, Hansen, Hargrove, Johnson, Magendanz, Pedersen, Reykdal, Riccelli, Sawyer, Scott, Sells, Smith, Tarleton and Wylie.

Staff: Madeleine Thompson (786-7304).


Opportunity Scholarship and Opportunity Expansion Programs.

Legislation enacted in 2011 created the Opportunity Scholarship and the Opportunity Expansion programs with the purpose of mitigating tuition increases, increasing the number of baccalaureate degrees, and investing in students and programs to meet labor market demands. The scholarships are funded by a combination of private and state moneys. The expansion awards are funded with voluntary contributions of high technology research and development tax credits.

Opportunity Scholarship Board.

The Opportunity Scholarship and the Opportunity Expansion programs are overseen by the Opportunity Scholarship Board (Board), comprising seven members appointed by the Governor. With respect to two of these appointments, the Governor is to consider names from a list provided by the Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate. Four of the persons appointed by the Governor must be foundation or business and industry representatives from the state's most productive industries such as aerospace, manufacturing, health sciences, information technology, and others. The foundation or business and industry members are to be selected from a list of nominees provided by the private sector donors to the Opportunity Scholarship and the Opportunity Expansion programs. The Governor may request that the donors submit an additional list or lists of nominees. Board members hold their offices for a term of four years. The Chair of the Board is elected by the Board members from among the business and industry representatives on the Board.

Summary of Bill:

Two foundation or business and industry representatives appointed by the Governor are added to the Opportunity Scholarship Board (Board). The total number of Board members is increased from seven to nine members.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Available.

Effective Date: The bill takes effect 90 days after adjournment of the session in which the bill is passed.

Staff Summary of Public Testimony:

(In support) The Opportunity Scholarship serves low and middle income students and promotes students to stick with their programs, as well as supporting the Science Technology Engineering and Math pipeline issue. This proposal would allow the Opportunity Scholarship Board (Board) to better reflect the businesses and industries in the state with a growing need for employees in STEM and health care degrees. The proposal would facilitate the Board to meet the quorum requirements for meetings. This proposal would help the scholarship to meet its fundraising goals. This proposal will help Washington students to achieve their individual, academic, and career dreams while helping Washington businesses to fill their high-demand jobs for the 21st century.

(Opposed) None.

Persons Testifying: Representative Stonier, prime sponsor; and Susan Pollack, College Success Foundation.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: None.