Washington State

House of Representatives

Office of Program Research



Higher Education Committee

HB 1645

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Brief Description: Increasing the number of public members on the Washington higher education facilities authority.

Sponsors: Representatives Riccelli, Sells, Ryu and Moscoso; by request of Washington State Higher Education Facilities Authority.

Brief Summary of Bill

  • Adds one public member to the Higher Education Facilities Authority.

Hearing Date: 2/12/13

Staff: Luke Wickham (786-7146).


The Higher Education Facilities Authority

The Washington Higher Education Facilities Authority (Facilities Authority) was created in 1983 to allow Washington's nonprofit, independent colleges to build, improve, and outfit higher education facilities through tax-exempt financing. The Facilities Authority issues tax-exempt, non-recourse revenue bonds for the independent qualified institutions of higher Education in Washington State. The eligible colleges within the Facilities Authority include Bastyr University, Cornish College of the Arts, Gonzaga University, Heritage University, Northwest Indian College, Pacific Lutheran University, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, University of Puget Sound, Walla Walla University, Whitman College, and Whitworth University.

Currently, the board consists of six members, including: the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and four public members, one of whom must be the President of a higher education institution at the time of appointment. The public members must be residents of the state, appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. The public members serve staggered, four year terms. The Governor serves as the chairperson of the Facilities Authority.

Summary of Bill:

This bill adds one public member to the Facilities Authority, increasing the total membership from six members to seven members.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Available.

Effective Date: The bill takes effect 90 days after adjournment of the session in which the bill is passed.