SSB 5559

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

C 296 L 13

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Authorizing educational specialist degrees at Central Washington University, Western Washington University, and The Evergreen State College.

Sponsors: Senate Committee on Higher Education (originally sponsored by Senators Bailey, Kohl-Welles, Tom and McAuliffe).

Senate Committee on Higher Education

House Committee on Higher Education

Background: One of the primary purposes of regional universities is to offer undergraduate and graduate education programs through the master's degree. The regional universities are specifically authorized by law to grant any degree through the master's degree to any student who has completed a program of study in an area determined by the faculty and the institution's board of trustees to be appropriate for granting a degree.

In 2011, legislation was enacted authorizing Eastern Washington University (EWU) to offer an educational specialist degree (Ed.S.). An Ed.S. is an advanced degree for people who already have a master's degree with a teaching or educational focus. It is an intermediate degree between a master's and a doctorate. Some common Ed.S. specialties include school psychology, curriculum and instruction, special education, and educational administration.

Currently, EWU is the only regional university that has been authorized to offer a graduate degree above a master's.

Summary: The boards of trustees of Central Washington University, Western Washington University, and The Evergreen State College are authorized to offer Ed.S. degrees.

Votes on Final Passage:








July 28, 2013.