HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2013-4616, by Representatives Chopp, DeBolt, Alexander, Angel, Appleton, Bergquist, Blake, Buys, Carlyle, Chandler, Clibborn, Cody, Condotta, Crouse, Dahlquist, Dunshee, Fagan, Farrell, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Freeman, Goodman, Green, Habib, Haigh, Haler, Hansen, Hargrove, Harris, Hawkins, Hayes, Holy, Hope, Hudgins, Hunt, Hunter, Hurst, Jinkins, Johnson, Kagi, Kirby, Klippert, Kochmar, Kretz, Kristiansen, Liias, Lytton, MacEwen, Magendanz, Manweller, Maxwell, McCoy, Moeller, Morrell, Morris, Moscoso, Nealey, O'Ban, Orcutt, Ormsby, Orwall, Overstreet, Parker, Pedersen, Pettigrew, Pike, Pollet, Reykdal, Riccelli, Roberts, Rodne, Ross, Ryu, Santos, Sawyer, Schmick, Scott, Seaquist, Sells, Shea, Short, Smith, Springer, Stanford, Stonier, Sullivan, Takko, Tarleton, Taylor, Tharinger, Upthegrove, Van De Wege, Vick, Walsh, Warnick, Wilcox, Wylie, and Zeiger

WHEREAS, Washington is the only state named for an American president, George Washington, the father of our country, and as such, we Washingtonians hold the presidency and presidents in exceptionally high esteem; and

WHEREAS, For many years our state and nation have set aside the third Monday in February to celebrate Presidents' Day, which honors President George Washington, President Abraham Lincoln, and other former presidents of the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, George Washington, born February 22, 1732, led the Revolutionary Army with courage and fortitude, served as the first president of the United States, defined the office, and remained ever mindful of his actions and the ramifications carried by his deeds; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, born February 12, 1809, is remembered as the savior of the Union. Through the Emancipation Proclamation, he ended slavery, and he strove to rebuild the Union at the Civil War's conclusion; and

WHEREAS, In 1968 federal legislation, the "Monday Holidays Act," was passed to install the Presidents' Day celebration that we have come to know and respect; and

WHEREAS, In 1985, the Washington State Legislature singled out the third Monday in February as a day for commemorating the births of presidents Washington and Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, It is recognized that this diverse, wonderful land of ours has been fashioned into a land of freedom and opportunity thanks to the tireless efforts of our forebearers, especially presidents George Washington and Abraham Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, A Presidents' Day celebration would not be complete without recognizing the invaluable service of the first ladies in our American presidential history; and

WHEREAS, The first ladies of our nation have provided citizens with role models who exemplify what it means to be an American, and Abigail Adams, Dolly Madison, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jacqueline Kennedy, Nancy Reagan, Hillary Rodham Clinton, and other notable first ladies have served as examples of strength and courage throughout our history;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this eighteenth day of February, 2013, the House of Representatives honor the first and sixteenth presidents of the United States for their immeasurable contributions to, and noble sacrifices for, the causes of liberty, equality, and justice.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4616 adopted by the House of Representatives February 18, 2013