HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2013-4622, by Representatives Chopp, DeBolt, Alexander, Angel, Appleton, Bergquist, Blake, Buys, Carlyle, Chandler, Clibborn, Cody, Condotta, Crouse, Dahlquist, Dunshee, Fagan, Farrell, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Freeman, Goodman, Green, Habib, Haigh, Haler, Hansen, Hargrove, Harris, Hawkins, Hayes, Holy, Hope, Hudgins, Hunt, Hunter, Hurst, Jinkins, Johnson, Kagi, Kirby, Klippert, Kochmar, Kretz, Kristiansen, Liias, Lytton, MacEwen, Magendanz, Manweller, Maxwell, McCoy, Moeller, Morrell, Morris, Moscoso, Nealey, O'Ban, Orcutt, Ormsby, Orwall, Overstreet, Parker, Pedersen, Pettigrew, Pike, Pollet, Reykdal, Riccelli, Roberts, Rodne, Ross, Ryu, Santos, Sawyer, Schmick, Scott, Seaquist, Sells, Shea, Short, Smith, Springer, Stanford, Stonier, Sullivan, Takko, Tarleton, Taylor, Tharinger, Upthegrove, Van De Wege, Vick, Walsh, Warnick, Wilcox, Wylie, and Zeiger

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the state of Washington recognize extraordinary merit and achievement in all forms of endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The Seattle Seahawks thrilled fans by finishing the 2012 season with an overall record of 11-5, including a perfect 8-0 record on their home field in 2012; and

WHEREAS, The Seahawks advanced to the playoffs winning the NFC wild card round and representing the city admirably in the NFC divisional round; and

WHEREAS, The Seahawks have inspired their fans with their commitment to community and tenacity of play, inspiring the spirit of the "12th Man" to reach every part of this great state and each Seahawks fan across the country, and leading the "12th Man" to be the loudest fans in the league producing more opponent false starts than any other fan base since 2005; and

WHEREAS, The Seahawks achieved amazing team and individual accomplishments in the 2012 season with six Pro Bowl selections and four All-Pro selections; and

WHEREAS, Though one of the youngest teams in the league, the Seahawks showed great poise throughout the season that was demonstrated by players that placed second in defensive Rookie of the Year honors, third in offensive Rookie of the Year honors, and by setting the rookie quarterback record for touchdown passes in a single season; and

WHEREAS, The Seahawks defense was the number one ranked scoring defense in the NFL, and the offense set single-season records during the regular season for total rushing yards, average rushing yards, and per-carry average; and

WHEREAS, The Seahawks inspired the "12th Man" on and off the field through its civic work with the Seattle Seahawks Charitable Foundation; and

WHEREAS, The Seahawks Charitable Foundation and Spirit of 12 Partners, including the Russell Okung's UP Foundation, the Trufant Family Foundation, the Marshawn Lynch Fam 1st Family Foundation, and the Michael Robinson's Excel 2 Excellence Foundation, embody the team's commitment to the Pacific Northwest community and its fans; and

WHEREAS, Coach Pete Carroll has been an incredible leader by guiding the Seahawks to an overall winning record since joining the team in 2010 and working with youth in our communities through the formation of A Better Seattle, a partnership to help create a culture of safety and peace while reducing violence in our communities:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives congratulate the Seattle Seahawks on their outstanding success on the field and commend Seahawks players and management for their support of community activities and charitable causes; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the Seattle Seahawks Football Team. Go Hawks.

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk