HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2013-4635, by Representatives Zeiger, Morrell, Dahlquist, Hurst, Kochmar, Jinkins, Fey, Freeman, and Wilcox

WHEREAS, The annual Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

WHEREAS, 2013 marks the eightieth annual Daffodil Festival; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the Daffodil Festival is to focus national and regional attention on our local area as a place to live and visit, to give citizens of Pierce County a civic endeavor where the "Magic of Music" comes alive, to foster civic pride, to give young people and organizations of the local area an opportunity to display their talents and abilities, to give vent to citizens' enthusiasm in parades, pageantry, and events, and to stimulate the business economy through expenditures by and for the Festival and by visitors attracted during Festival Week; and

WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden party in Sumner and grew steadily each year until 1934, when flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of daffodil bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

WHEREAS, The Festival's 2013 events are ongoing with the 52nd Annual Junior Parade on April 20, 2013, the 80th Annual Grand Floral Street Parade on April 13, 2013--winding its way from downtown Tacoma through the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting and consisting of approximately 150 entries, including bands, marching and mounted units, and floats that are decorated with fresh-cut Daffodils numbering in the thousands--and will culminate with the Marine parade on April 21, 2013; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes Queen McKenna Erhardt, Rogers High School; and Princesses Kayla Prewitt, Curtis High School; Grace Collins, Fife High School; Annie Litzenberger, Eatonville High School; Amy Bernstein, Graham Kapowsin High School; Kayla Williams, Orting High School; Kabrina Kidd, Cascade Christian High School; Mikayla Flores, Chief Leschi High School; Cierra McMahon, Emerald Ridge High School; Bri Pedicone, Puyallup High School; Shelondra Harris, Henry Foss High School; Tara Harris, Lincoln High School; Carly Knox, Stadium High School; Zoe Mix, Wilson High School; Noelle Kaku, Bethel High School; Suga Iopu, Clover Park High School; Helena Laubach, Lakes High School; Marissa Gregg, Sumner High School; Angelica Maria, Mt. Tahoma High School; Anna Kessner, Spanaway Lake High School; Lexie Reyes, Washington High School; Taylor Friend, Bonney Lake High School; Bobbi McGinnis, Franklin Pierce High School; and Jessica Gamble, White River High School;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past eighty years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the 2013 Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the Festival Royalty.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4635 adopted by the House of Representatives March 15, 2013

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk