HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4676, by Representative Takko

WHEREAS, British Columbia and Washington State share a border, many natural resources, and geological and geographic similarities; and

WHEREAS, British Columbia and Washington State often work together to achieve mutual goals; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State Constitution expresses the paramount importance of education, which will help prepare young people to lead us into the future; and

WHEREAS, British Columbia recognizes the importance and value of quality civic education; and WHEREAS, Washington State and British Columbia are sponsors of internationally renowned legislative internship programs; and

WHEREAS, The British Columbia Parliamentary internship program offers an opportunity to university graduates to supplement their academic training by observing the daily operations of the British Columbia Parliament and the Washington State Legislature firsthand; and

WHEREAS, British Columbia and Washington State Legislative interns have participated in an exchange program to explore and learn about each other's government, institutions, and processes on eleven prior occasions; and

WHEREAS, We welcome the British Columbia Parliamentary interns to the Washington State Legislature and commend their numerous academic achievements;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor the hardworking and dedicated British Columbia Parliamentary intern program facilitators: Karen Aitken and Jennifer Ives, as well as the British Columbia Parliamentary interns: Beaudin Bennett, Sarah Griffiths, Elyse Goatcher-Bergmann, Adam Walter, Esther Rzeplinski, Ethan Plato, Renae Sinclair, Carly Aasen, Simran Lehal, and Johanna McBurnie; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of Washington hereby honor, thank, and celebrate the British Columbia Parliamentary internship participants here today.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4676 adopted by the House of Representatives February 7, 2014

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk