<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4677</u>, by Representatives Chopp, Kristiansen, Appleton, Bergquist, Blake, Buys, Carlyle, Chandler, Christian, Clibborn, Cody, Condotta, Dahlquist, DeBolt, Dunshee, Fagan, Farrell, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Freeman, Goodman, Green, Gregerson, Habib, Haigh, Haler, Hansen, Hargrove, Harris, Hawkins, Hayes, Holy, Hope, Hudgins, G. Hunt, S. Hunt, Hunter, Hurst, Jinkins, Johnson, Kagi, Kirby, Klippert, Kochmar, Kretz, Lytton, MacEwen, Magendanz, Manweller, Moeller, Morrell, Morris, Moscoso, Muri, Nealey, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Overstreet, Parker, Pettigrew, Pike, Pollet, Reykdal, Riccelli, Roberts, Robinson, Rodne, Ross, Ryu, Santos, Sawyer, Schmick, Scott, Seaquist, Sells, Senn, Shea, Short, Smith, Springer, Stanford, Stonier, Sullivan, Takko, Tarleton, Taylor, Tharinger, Van De Wege, Vick, Walkinshaw, Walsh, Warnick, Wilcox, Wylie, Young, and Zeiger

WHEREAS, The citizens of the state of Washington and of the United States of America for many years have reserved the third Monday in February as an exceptional celebration for Presidents' Day; and

WHEREAS, While Presidents' Day has paid specific, historical tribute both to President George Washington and to President Abraham Lincoln, this yearly tribute generally also extends to embrace and commend other former occupants of the White House, as well as the current United States Commander in Chief; and

WHEREAS, George Washington, born February 22, 1732, led the Revolutionary Army with courage and fortitude, defined the highest office in the land as the first president of the United States, and remained ever-mindful of his actions and the ramifications realized through his deeds; and

WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, born February 12, 1809, is remembered as the defender of the Union, as the author of the Emancipation Proclamation that freed the vast majority of slaves, and as a giant leader who strove mightily to rebuild the Union after the denouement of the Civil War; and

WHEREAS, In 1968, federal legislation, the "Uniform Monday Holiday Act," was approved in Congress. The act went into effect three years later to install the Presidents' Day celebration that we have come to know and respect; and

WHEREAS, In 1985, the Washington State Legislature singled out the third Monday in February as a day for commemorating the births of Presidents Washington and Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, It is recognized all over the world that this diverse, magnificent land of ours stands up for freedom and opportunity, thanks in very large measure to the robust foundation built by the tireless efforts of our forebearers, especially Presidents George Washington and Abraham Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, A Presidents' Day celebration would not be at all complete without recognizing the irreplaceable service of the first ladies in our American presidential history; and

WHEREAS, The first ladies of our nation are tremendous role models, illustrating so very well what it means to be an American, and serving throughout our history as representations of strength and courage; and

WHEREAS, Washington is the only state named for an American president, George Washington, the father of our country, and as such, we Washingtonians hold the presidency and presidents in exceptionally high esteem;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this seventeenth day of February, 2014, the House of Representatives honor the Presidents of the United States of America for their immense, immeasurable contributions to the cause of liberty and justice for all.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4677 adopted by the House of Representatives February 17, 2014 Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk