SJM 8012

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Requesting the designation of U.S. Highway 101 to honor recipients of the Medal of Honor.

Sponsors: Senators Hargrove, King, Hobbs, Hill, Conway and Hatfield.

Senate Committee on Transportation

House Committee on Transportation

Background: Current law authorizes the Washington State Transportation Commission (WSTC) to name or rename state transportation facilities. The process to name or rename a facility can be initiated by the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT), state and local governmental entities, citizen organizations, or by any individual person. In order for WSTC to consider the proposal, the requesting entity must provide sufficient evidence indicating community support and acceptance of the proposal. This evidence can include a letter of support from the state or federal legislator representing the area encompassing the facility to be renamed. Other evidence that would provide proof of community support includes a resolution passed by other elected bodies in the impacted area, WSDOT support, and supportive action from a local organization such as a chamber of commerce.

Summary: WSTC is requested to commence proceedings to designate U.S. 101 as the North Olympic Peninsula Medal of Honor Memorial Highway to honor those who served and sacrificed their lives. U.S. 101 from two miles east of the Jefferson and Clallam county line to one mile east of the line in Jefferson County would honor Thaddeus S. Smith. U.S. 101 from one mile east of the Jefferson County line to the Clallam County line would honor Marvin G. Shields. U.S. 101 from the Clallam County line to one mile west would honor Francis A. Bishop. U.S. 101 from one mile west of the Clallam County line to two miles west of the line would honor Richard B. Anderson. Copies of the memorial must be forwarded to the Secretary of Transportation, WSTC, and WSDOT.

Votes on Final Passage: