<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2015-4632</u>, by Representatives Stambaugh, Fagan, Johnson, Orwall, Griffey, Zeiger, MacEwen, Kochmar, Ryu, Walsh, Muri, S. Hunt, and McCabe

2 for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and 3 WHEREAS, 2015 marks the 82nd annual Daffodil Festival, and the theme of this year's festival is "Shine Your Light With Service"; and 4 The mission of the Daffodil Festival is to focus 5 national and regional attention on our local area as a place to live 6 7 and visit, to give citizens of Pierce County a civic endeavor where 8 "Shine Your Light With Service" comes alive, to foster civic pride, to give young people and organizations of the local area 9 opportunity to display their talents and abilities, to give voice to 10 citizens' enthusiasm through parades, pageantry, and events, and to 11 12 stimulate the economy through expenditures by and for the Festival 13 and by visitors attracted during Festival Week; and WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden party in 14 Sumner and grew steadily each year until 1934, when flowers, which 15 previously had been largely discarded in favor of daffodil bulbs, 16 17 were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through

WHEREAS, The Festival's 2015 events include the 82nd Annual Grand

Floral Street Parade on April 11, 2015—winding its way from downtown

Tacoma through the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting, and

consisting of approximately 150 entries, including bands, marching

and mounted units, and floats that are decorated with fresh-cut

p. 1

HR 4632

WHEREAS, The annual Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition

1

18

19

20

21

22

23

Tacoma; and

1 Daffodils numbering in the thousands—and will culminate with the 2 Marine parade on April 12, 2015; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes Pelumi Ajibade, 3 Stadium; Ashley Becker, Bonney Lake; Kenzie Bjornson, Cascade 4 Christian; Kyla Farris, Rogers; Madison Gordon, Wilson; Kasey Hewitt, 5 Lakes; Emily Inskeep, Chief Leschi; Jaskirat Kaur, Emerald Ridge; б 7 Madison Lindahl, Puyallup; Rachel Price, Eatonville; Bailey Rasmussen, White River; Kaitlin Ringus, Fife; Nicole Ripley, Henry 8 Foss; Tia Robbins, Franklin Pierce; Ransom Satterlee, Bethel; Athena 9 Sok, Lincoln; Victoria Ann Tirado, Clover Park; Bailee Towns, Graham 10 Kapowsin; Taylor Trujillo, Spanaway Lake; Samantha Ward, Sumner; 11 Sharon Washington, Washington; Shannon Woods, Mt. Tahoma; Madison 12 13 Zahn, Orting; and Lyndsay Zemanek, Curtis;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past eighty-two years; and

14

15

16 17

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the 2015 Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the Festival Royalty.

--- END ---

p. 2 HR 4632