HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2016-4680, by Representative Nealey

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington state legislature to
recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

3 WHEREAS, The Prosser High School Mustangs football team displayed 4 extraordinary excellence in winning the 2015 Class 2A state 5 championship; and

6 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Head Coach Corey Ingvalson, the 7 Mustangs went undefeated at home this season, finishing with a 8 spectacular regular season record of 9-1 and an overall record of 9 13-1; and

10 WHEREAS, In the first round of the 2A Playoff Tournament, held 11 November 11, 2015, the Prosser Mustangs held the Clarkston Bantams 12 scoreless in their 14-0 victory; and

WHEREAS, In the quarterfinals of the 2A Playoff Tournament, held November 21, 2015, the Prosser Mustangs held their opponent scoreless and defeated the Ellensburg Bulldogs 31-0; and

16 WHEREAS, In the semifinals of the 2A Playoff Tournament, held 17 November 28, 2015, the Prosser Mustangs' high-powered offense and 18 strong defense united to lead the team to a 33-21 victory over the 19 Sedro-Woolley Cubs; and

20 WHEREAS, On December 5, 2015, in front of hundreds of fans at the 21 Tacoma Dome in Tacoma, Washington, the Prosser Mustangs defeated the 22 Tumwater Thunderbirds by a score of 22-15 to go on to win their fifth 23 2A state championship; and

WHEREAS, Linebacker Kolby Swift, with 1:09 remaining in the 1 2 championship game, forced the fumble which was recovered by lineman 3 Riley Lusk in a play that sealed the victory for the Mustangs; and 4 WHEREAS, Junior quarterback, Tanner Bolt, was awarded with the 5 Associated Press Class 2A All-State Player of the Year award after 6 throwing for 280 yards and three touchdowns in the 2A championship 7 game, and received honorable mention on the CWAC all-league team; and 8 WHEREAS, The Mustangs garnered a total of eight Associated Press 9 2A all-state selections, which included Riley Lusk, David Ledesma,

10 Michael Kernan, Kason Blair, Thomas Niemeyer, and Tanner Bolt; and 11 WHEREAS, Riley Lusk, Michael Kernan, Kason Blair, David Ledesma,

12 and Thomas Niemeyer were selected for the 2015 CWAC All-League First 13 Team for extraordinary efforts on offense, defense, or both; and

14 WHEREAS, The Mustangs' defense led the conference in defense, 15 allowing only seven points per game; and

16 WHEREAS, The Mustangs' offense led the conference in scoring with 17 601 points over the course of the season; and

WHEREAS, Prosser High School has a history of successful football teams, winning the state championships in 1992, 1993, 1999, 2007, and 20 2015; and

21 WHEREAS, Prosser Head Coach Cory Ingvalson played on the 1999 22 state championship team and coached the 2015 state championship team; 23 and

24 WHEREAS, Prosser High School alumnus Kellen Moore set Washington 25 state records in total completions with 787 and total touchdown 26 passes with 173, and went on to represent the Prosser community in 27 the National Football League, where he played for the Detroit Lions 28 and the Dallas Cowboys;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives recognize and honor the Prosser High School Mustangs football team for its outstanding accomplishment and storied past of excellence in football; and

33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 34 immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of 35 Representatives to the Prosser High School Mustangs football team and 36 to Head Coach Cory Ingvalson.

37

38

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

1	Resolution 468) adopted by	the House of	Representatives
2		March	4, 2016	
3				
4				
5				
6				
7				_
8		Barbara Bake	r, Chief Cler	2