By Senators Wellman, Kuderer, Pedersen, Frockt, Mullet, Fain, Takko, Van De Wege, Dhingra, Brown, Rivers, Wilson, Zeiger, Miloscia, Palumbo, Wagoner, Liias, and Saldaña
WHEREAS, On May 28, 2017, the University of Washington women's rowing program became the NCAA Rowing Champions; and
WHEREAS, This is the fourth NCAA rowing title for the Husky women, having previously won in 1997, 1998, and 2001; and
WHEREAS, Washington won the varsity eight, second varsity eight, and varsity four races, becoming the first team to ever sweep all three NCAA grand finals; and
WHEREAS, First-year head coach Yasmin Farooq led the team to victory in all nine of its races over the course of the three-day regatta at Mercer Lake, New Jersey; and
WHEREAS, The Washington women also claimed victory on May 14, 2017, becoming Pac-12 Champions after sweeping all five of their races at Lake Natoma, California; and
WHEREAS, The University of Washington has a rich rowing tradition; and
WHEREAS, The primary goal of Washington Rowing is the be the very best intercollegiate rowing program in the world, including top performance on the water, extraordinary achievement in the classroom, and preparing student-athletes to contribute to the community;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize and honor the University of Washington women's rowing program as a vital part of our state, noting that these women, with their outstanding athletic ability and academic achievements, bring honor and pride to our state.
I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8698,
adopted by the Senate
March 5, 2018
Secretary of the Senate