FINAL BILL REPORT SB 5649

C 68 L 17

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Modifying the eligibility requirements for certain counties to form a regional transportation planning organization.

Sponsors: Senators Hawkins and Saldaña.

Senate Committee on Transportation House Committee on Transportation

Background: Under current state law, Regional Transportation Planning Organizations (RTPO) are voluntary associations of local governments within a county, or within geographically contiguous counties, created primarily to prepare regional transportation plans and to ensure local and regional coordination of transportation planning within counties. An RTPO can cover both urban and rural areas and receives state funding in support of its planning efforts.

An RTPO must contain at least one complete county with a population of at least 100,000, or a population of at least 75,000 and contain a Washington State Ferries terminal. Alternatively, an RTPO must contain at least three counties regardless of population. An RTPO must include at least 60 percent of the cities and towns in the region representing at least 75 percent of the cities' and towns' populations.

There are currently RTPOs covering 36 of the 39 counties in Washington. Okanogan, Island, and San Juan Counties are not part of any RTPO. However, Island County is in the process of forming a single-county RTPO.

Summary: A county or counties with a population of at least 40,000 and covering a geographic area of at least 5000 square miles may form an RTPO.

Votes on Final Passage:

Senate 49 0 House 94 3

Effective: July 23, 2017

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Senate Bill Report - 1 - SB 5649