HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2018-4666, by Representative Vick

1 WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State House of 2 Representatives to recognize excellence in every field of endeavor; 3 and 4 WHEREAS, For the first time in school history, the Hockinson High 5 School Hawks are the 2017 2A Football State Champions; and WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks completed an undefeated season with 6 7 a record of 14-0; and 8 WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks overcame Tumwater High School in the 9 state championship at the Tacoma Dome on December 2, 2017, by a final 10 score of 35 to 22; and WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks beat West Valley High School in the 11 12 semifinals 53 to 30; and 13 WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks scored an astonishing 633 points 14 throughout the season; and 15 WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks defense dominated the season by only 16 allowing 13 points per game; and 17 WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks Head Coach Rick Steele mentored and 18 coached these young men; and 19 WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks starting quarterback Canon Racanelli 20 was named the 2A Football Player of the Year; and The Hockinson Hawks wide receiver Sawyer Racanelli, 21 WHEREAS, offensive lineman Kordell Johnson, defensive lineman Kyle Brabec, and 22

1 linebacker Colton Wheeler were named members of the 2A First Team for 2 football in the state of Washington; and

3 WHEREAS, The Hockinson Hawks defensive back Matt Henry was named 4 Honorable Mention for football in the state of Washington;

5 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this day the Washington 6 State House of Representatives congratulate the Hockinson High School 7 football team on their state championship and their fans, supportive 8 alumni, and the entire Hockinson community for this remarkable 9 accomplishment; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the Hockinson High School Hawks football team and to Head Coach Rick Steele.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4666 adopted by the House of Representatives February 2, 2018

14 15

16

17

Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk