SENATE RESOLUTION

By Senators Zeiger, O'Ban, Becker, Darneille, Fortunato, Conway, and Wilson, C.

1 WHEREAS, For eighty-six years the annual Daffodil Festival has 2 been a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County; and 3 WHEREAS, The Daffodil Festival has been an anticipated event that 4 continues to bring communities together to celebrate unity within our

5 diverse community; and

6 WHEREAS, Since its inception in the 1920s as a modest garden 7 party, it has grown into the festival that we all know and love today 8 and this year celebrates its eighty-sixth anniversary; and

9 WHEREAS, Each year, twenty-three young women pass through a 10 rigorous selection process to represent their schools as well as 11 Pierce County communities through ambassadorship, community service, 12 and civic pride; and

13 WHEREAS, Members of the Daffodil Festival royal court serve as 14 role models for youth around our region. Their volunteerism, civic 15 responsibility and willingness to be ambassadors for Pierce County 16 serve as a light for youth to look up to.

17 WHEREAS, This year's Daffodil Festival royal court includes: Kyla 18 Stout, Puyallup High School; Taychell Lott, Franklin Pierce High 19 School; Haley Beyer, Rogers High School; Katherine Gilbert, White 20 River High School; Megan Van, Henry Foss High School; Linda Tran, 21 Clover Park High School; Chloe Sawyer, Eatonville High School; Sharon 22 Ryu, Curtis High School; Grace Pitts, Wilson High School; Lindsy 23 Hatch, Sumner High School; Yennhi Truong, Mt Tahoma High School;

Raegan Frasier, Orting High School; Alexis Owen, Graham-Kapowsin 1 2 High School; Alyssa Black, Bonney Lake High School; Grace 3 Mattson, Fife High School; Tatiana Crichton, Bethel High School; 4 Emily Young, Lakes High School; Osheonna Green, Washington High 5 School; Abegale McDermot, Stadium High School; Jessica Daub, 6 Chief Leschi High School; Kimberly Lengyel, Emerald Ridge High 7 School; Jordyn Warner, Spanaway Lake High School; and Araya 8 Zackery, Lincoln High School;

9 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington state 10 Senate recognize and honor the many contributions made to our 11 state by the Daffodil Festival, its organizers, and its royal 12 court for the past eighty-six years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2019 Daffodil Festival officers and to the twenty-three members of the 2019 Daffodil Festival royalty.

17 I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,

18 do hereby certify that this is a true and

19 correct copy of Senate Resolution 8632,

20 adopted by the Senate

21 April 2, 2019

22 BRAD HENDRICKSON

23 Secretary of the Senate