SB 5101
C 233 L 21
Synopsis as Enacted
Brief Description: Establishing tribal representation on the emergency management council.
Sponsors: Senators Stanford, Conway, Dhingra, Hasegawa, Hunt, Nguyen, Randall, Salda?a, Wagoner and Wilson, C.; by request of Military Department.
Senate Committee on State Government & Elections
House Committee on Community & Economic Development

The Emergency Management Council (council) advises the Governor and the adjutant general on all matters pertaining to state and local emergency management.  The council must prepare an annual assessment of statewide emergency preparedness and review administrative rules governing state and local emergency management practices.  The council is limited to 18 members appointed by the adjutant general.
The membership of the council shall include, but not be limited to, representatives of:

  • city and county governments;
  • sheriffs and police chiefs;
  • the Washington State Patrol;
  • the Military Department;
  • the Department of Ecology;
  • state and local fire chiefs;
  • seismic safety experts;
  • state and local emergency management directors;
  • search and rescue volunteers;
  • medical professionals who have expertise in emergency medical care;
  • building officials;
  • private industry representatives with knowledge in emergency and hazardous materials management; and
  • the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction.

The council members shall elect a chair from within the council membership.  The members of the council serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for travel expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.


The total membership of the council is expanded to 21 members, adding two representatives of federally recognized tribes.

Votes on Final Passage:
Senate 48 0
House 98 0 (House amended)
Senate 48 0 (Senate concurred)

July 25, 2021