Washington State Senate

Introduction and First Reading of
Bills, Memorials, Joint Resolutions and Concurrent Resolutions
2023 Regular Session of the 68th Legislature
DENNY HECK, President of the Senate KAREN KEISER, President Pro Tem
SARAH BANNISTER, Secretary of the Senate JOHN LOVICK, Vice President Pro Tem

February 17, 2023 - Friday 40TH DAY
SB 5748 By Senators Muzzall and Mullet

Clarifying the excise tax treatment of meals furnished to tenants of senior living communities as part of their rental agreement.

Referred to Committee on WAYS & MEANS.

SB 5749 By Senators Liias and King

Enhancing rail safety governance by expanding the role of the utilities and transportation commission.

Referred to Committee on TRANSPORTATION.


2SHB 1009 By House Committee on Appropriations (originally sponsored by Representatives Leavitt, Barkis, Ryu, Paul, Donaghy, Slatter, Simmons, Low, Volz, Schmidt, Christian, Lekanoff, Griffey, Doglio, Robertson, Orwall, Caldier, Reeves, Bronoske, Bergquist, Shavers, Riccelli and Ormsby)

Concerning military spouse employment.

Referred to Committee on LABOR & COMMERCE.

SHB 1068 By House Committee on Labor & Workplace Standards (originally sponsored by Representatives Bronoske, Simmons, Ryu, Goodman, Berry, Bateman, Peterson, Taylor, Doglio, Gregerson, Wylie, Pollet, Davis, Santos, Ormsby and Fosse)

Concerning injured workers' rights during compelled medical examinations.

Referred to Committee on LABOR & COMMERCE.

ESHB 1073 By House Committee on Health Care & Wellness (originally sponsored by Representatives Harris, Tharinger, Ryu, Leavitt, Macri, Caldier, Santos and Ormsby)

Concerning medical assistants.

Referred to Committee on HEALTH & LONG TERM CARE.

SHB 1236 By House Committee on Environment & Energy (originally sponsored by Representatives Hackney, Abbarno, Senn, Reed, Doglio, Ramel and Lekanoff)

Enhancing access to clean fuel for agencies providing public transportation.

Referred to Committee on ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY & TECHNOLOGY.

SHB 1346 By House Committee on Education (originally sponsored by Representatives Shavers, Berry, Couture, Leavitt, Morgan, Simmons, Timmons, Lekanoff, Paul and Donaghy)

Creating the purple star award.

Referred to Committee on EARLY LEARNING & K-12 EDUCATION.

SHB 1500 By House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources (originally sponsored by Representatives Eslick, Chapman, Jacobsen, Ramel, Leavitt, Walen, Peterson, Couture, Paul, Doglio and Macri)

Increasing the cap on gross sales for cottage food operations.