FINAL BILL REPORT HB 1544

C 80 L 23

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Concerning shoreline master program review schedules.

Sponsors: Representatives Alvarado, Tharinger, Pollet and Duerr.

House Committee on Environment & Energy Senate Committee on Local Government, Land Use & Tribal Affairs

Background:

The Shoreline Management Act requires all counties, as well as most towns and cities, to develop and implement Shoreline Master Programs. These programs are designed to help regulate and protect the shorelines of the state. The Department of Ecology has adopted Shoreline Master Program guidelines to provide standards for adopting and implementing shoreline programs.

Counties and cities must review and revise their master programs every eight years. The next round of revisions and reviews are due in the following years for the following groups of counties and the cities within them:

- June 30, 2028, for King, Kitsap, Pierce, and Snohomish counties;
- June 30, 2029, for Clallam, Clark, Island, Jefferson, Lewis, Mason, San Juan, Skagit, Thurston, and Whatcom counties;
- June 30, 2030, for Benton, Chelan, Cowlitz, Douglas, Franklin, Kittitas, Skamania, Spokane, Walla Walla, and Yakima counties; and
- June 30, 2031, for Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Stevens, Wahkiakum, and Whitman counties.

Summary:

Shoreline Master Programs must be reviewed and revised every 10 years, rather than every eight years. In addition, the next year by which Shoreline Master Programs must be

House Bill Report - 1 - HB 1544

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

reviewed and revised is moved back by one year, so that the next round of reviews and revisions are due in the following years for the following groups of counties and the cities within them:

- June 30, 2029, for King, Kitsap, Pierce, and Snohomish counties;
- June 30, 2030, for Clallam, Clark, Island, Jefferson, Lewis, Mason, San Juan, Skagit, Thurston, and Whatcom counties;
- June 30, 2031, for Benton, Chelan, Cowlitz, Douglas, Franklin, Kittitas, Skamania, Spokane, Walla Walla, and Yakima counties; and
- June 30, 2032, for Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Stevens, Wahkiakum, and Whitman counties.

Votes on Final Passage:

House 97 0 Senate 48 0

Effective: July 23, 2023

July 1, 2025 (Section 2)

House Bill Report - 2 - HB 1544