## SENATE BILL REPORT SB 5159

As of January 13, 2023

**Title:** An act relating to shoreline master program review schedules.

**Brief Description:** Concerning shoreline master program review schedules.

Sponsors: Senators Torres, Boehnke, Fortunato and Lovelett.

## **Brief History:**

Committee Activity: Local Government, Land Use & Tribal Affairs: 1/17/23.

## **Brief Summary of Bill**

• Changes the master program review and revision cycle in the Shoreline Management Act from eight years to ten years.

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, LAND USE & TRIBAL AFFAIRS

**Staff:** Karen Epps (786-7424)

**Background:** The Shoreline Management Act governs uses of state shorelines. All counties and cities with shorelines of the state are required to adopt master programs that regulate land use activities in shoreline areas of the state. Master programs apply to both public and private uses of lake, stream, wetland, and marine shorelines.

Local governments must conduct a review of their master programs at least once every eight years to assure the master program is consistent with legal requirements, their comprehensive plan and development regulations adopted under the Growth Management Act, if applicable, and with other local requirements. Following this review, local governments must revise their master programs, if necessary, under a set schedule:

• on or before June 30, 2027, for King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties and the cities within those counties:

Senate Bill Report - 1 - SB 5159

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

- on or before June 30, 2028, for Clallam, Clark, Island, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, San Juan, Skagit, Thurston, and Whatcom counties and the cities within those counties;
- on or before June 30, 2029, for Benton, Chelan, Cowlitz, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, Lewis, Skamania, Spokane, and Yakima counties and the cities within those counties; and
- on or before June 30, 2030, for Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Stevens, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, and Whitman counties and the cities within those counties.

The Department of Ecology (Ecology) provides guidance and technical assistance for local governments developing master programs. Ecology also reviews and approves master programs before their implementation.

**Summary of Bill:** The master program review and revision cycle is changed from eight years to ten years.

Appropriation: None.

**Fiscal Note:** Not requested.

Creates Committee/Commission/Task Force that includes Legislative members: No.

**Effective Date:** Ninety days after adjournment of session in which bill is passed.

Senate Bill Report - 2 - SB 5159