4 5

6 7

8

9

10

1112

13

14

15

16

17

SUBSTITUTE HOUSE JOINT MEMORIAL 4001

State of Washington 68th Legislature 2023 Regular Session

By House Transportation (originally sponsored by Representatives Orcutt, Walsh, McEntire, Abbarno, Christian, and McClintock)

READ FIRST TIME 02/17/23.

TO THE WASHINGTON STATE TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION, AND TO THE HONORABLE ROGER MILLAR, SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION, AND TO THE WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION:

We, your Memorialists, the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Washington, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent and petition as follows:

WHEREAS, Justin DeRosier was a fourth generation resident of Cowlitz County, who graduated from Kelso High School, and was an exemplary husband, father, and son; and

WHEREAS, Justin DeRosier attended Washington State University and graduated with a degree in criminal justice (Go Cougs!); and

WHEREAS, Justin DeRosier had been a member of the Whitman County Washington Sheriff's Office; the Oakesdale, Washington Police Department; the Bristol Bay Borough, Alaska Police Department; and most recently the Cowlitz County Sheriff's Department where he dedicatedly and cheerfully served his community as a patrol deputy, SWAT officer, and boat operator; and

WHEREAS, Deputy Justin DeRosier was fatally shot while on duty protecting the people of Cowlitz County on April 13, 2019, in Kalama; and

21 WHEREAS, The community mourns the loss of this young, vibrant law 22 enforcement officer and does not want to forget his selfless service;

p. 1 SHJM 4001

NOW, THEREFORE, Your Memorialists respectfully pray that the Washington transportation commission commence proceedings to designate the section of state route number 411 that traverses Cowlitz County from milepost 1.5 to 12 as the Cowlitz County Deputy Sheriff Justin DeRosier memorial highway.

BE IT RESOLVED, That copies of this Memorial be immediately transmitted to the Washington State Transportation Commission and the Honorable Roger Millar, Secretary of the Washington State Department of Transportation, and the Washington State Department of Transportation.

6

7

8

10

--- END ---

p. 2 SHJM 4001