HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2023-4649, by Representative Rule

1 WHEREAS, The Lynden High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team has 2 had an outstanding season to win their second consecutive state 3 basketball championship in the WIAA Class 2A; and 4 WHEREAS, The Lions have won 12 state basketball championships; 5 and 6 WHEREAS, The Lions have won four of the last five 2A state 7 championships; and 8 WHEREAS, The team has a combined win-loss record of 20 wins and 9 four losses over the last season; and 10 WHEREAS, The team is coached by Coach of the Year Brian Roper; 11 and 12 WHEREAS, The team features two time 2A tournament MVP Anthony 13 Canales; and 14 The team has demonstrated commitment, perseverance, WHEREAS, 15 excellence, and teamwork, which are essential qualities to achieve the highest levels of success; and 16 17 WHEREAS, Educationally-based athletics are proven to positively 18 impact attendance, grades, leadership skills, and mental health; 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington House of 20 Representatives hereby congratulate the Lynden High School Boys 21 Varsity Basketball Team for their outstanding achievements and extend 22 its warmest appreciation to the players, coaches, support staff, and families who have contributed to the success of the team; and 23

HR 4649

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington House of 2 Representatives recognize the successes and accomplishments of the 3 Lynden High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team as a source of pride 4 and inspiration for the entire school community; and

5 ΒE IΤ FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington House of 6 Representatives commend the team for their excellent performance, 7 sportsmanship, and leadership, and for representing their school and 8 community with distinction and honor; and wish the team continued 9 success and look forward to their future accomplishments both on and 10 off the court.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4649 adopted by the House of Representatives April 18, 2023

11 12

13

14

Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk