WSR 19-17-048
[Filed August 16, 2019, 8:57 a.m.]
Subject of Possible Rule Making: Chapter 246-XXX WAC creating a new chapter to establish registration and fees for dental laboratories.
Statutes Authorizing the Agency to Adopt Rules on this Subject: HB 1177 (chapter 68, Laws of 2019); RCW 43.70.250, 43.70.280; and HB 1753 (chapter 303, Laws of 2019).
Reasons Why Rules on this Subject may be Needed and What They Might Accomplish: HB 1177 creates a new chapter in Title 70 RCW to establish registration criteria and fee authority for dental laboratory registration. The bill requires the department of health to establish a fee and issue registrations to qualified dental laboratories. The bill also requires the dental laboratory registration number be included on all work orders.
HB 1753 amended the Administrative Procedures [Procedure] Act, RCW 34.05.310, by requiring the secretary of health or a disciplining authority specified in RCW 18.130.040 to file a CR-101 when creating or amending fees affecting professions regulated under chapter 18.130 RCW.
Rules are necessary to implement HB 1177.
Other Federal and State Agencies that Regulate this Subject and the Process Coordinating the Rule with These Agencies: None.
Process for Developing New Rule: Collaborative rule making.
Interested parties can participate in the decision to adopt the new rule and formulation of the proposed rule before publication by contacting Jennifer Santiago, P.O. Box 47852, Olympia, WA 98504, phone 360-236-4893, fax 360-236-2901, TTY 360-833-6388 or 711, email, web site
Additional comments: Notice will be sent to the dental laboratory interested parties GovDelivery list, to the Washington State Dental Association, Washington State Denturist Association, and Washington State Dental Laboratory Association. Stakeholders will be invited to rule drafting workshops and commission meetings through the dental laboratory interested parties GovDelivery list. Interested parties can be added to the GovDelivery list by subscribing at
August 16, 2019
Trina Crawford
Executive Director